REG 02.65.05 - Tuition Surcharge
Authority: Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
History: First Issued: March 26, 1996. Last Revised: September 7, 2010.
NC G.S. §116-143.7 – Tuition Surcharge
Contact Info: Registration and Records (919-515-2376)
Pursuant to the requirements for North Carolina General Statute §116-143.7, effective for the Fall 2010 semester and thereafter all undergraduate students will be subject to a 50% tuition surcharge for all credit hours attempted in excess of 140 or 110% of the hours required by the student’s academic program, whichever is greater. See section 1.3.3.
1.1 Credit hours to be counted:
1.1.1 All regular session hours attempted at NCSU, including failed courses and course-repeat-without-penalty courses
1.1.2 All transfer credit accepted by NCSU
1.2 Credit hours to be excluded:
1.2.1 Summer session and off-campus extension courses
1.2.2 Test credit through AP, CLEP, or credit by examination
1.2.3 Credit hours taken while enrolled as a high school student
1.2.4 Courses officially withdrawn or dropped without a grade during the official drop period
1.3 Students subject to surcharge:
1.3.1 Students earning a first baccalaureate degree in a program that requires no more than 128 credit hours will be subject to the surcharge after having completed eight or more regular semesters at any institution. Students pursuing programs requiring more that 128 hours will be subject to the surcharge only after having completed 10 or more regular semesters. Students enrolled on the cooperative education program are registered for zero hours, which will not add to the semesters enrolled. Work completed in summer sessions or off-campus extension will not count towards the eight or ten semesters.
1.3.2 For students earning a first baccalaureate degree program that requires no more than 128 credit hours, the surcharge shall be applied to all counted credit hours in excess of 140. For students earning a first baccalaureate degree in a program that requires more than 128 credit hours, the surcharge shall be applied to all counted credit hours that exceed 110 percent of the hours required for the degree.
1.3.3 Students pursuing multiple degrees will be subject to the surcharge for all counted credit hours in excess of 140 or 110% of that required for the degree(s), whichever is greater. Hours required for the degree(s) are defined as the number of hours required for the primary degree plus all hours completed that are creditable towards the additional degree(s) but are non-degree-creditable towards the primary degree, as defined by the student’s Degree Audit.
1.3.4 Students pursing a baccalaureate degree other than their first will be subject to the surcharge for all counted credit hours in excess of 140 or 110% of that required for the additional degree.
2.1 Upon application by a student, the tuition surcharge shall be waived if the student demonstrates that any of the following have substantially disrupted or interrupted the student’s pursuit of a degree:
2.1.1 A military service obligation
2.1.2 Serious medical debilitation
2.1.3 A short-term or long-term disability
2.1.4 Other extraordinary hardship
2.2 Contact the Department of Registration and Records for tuition surcharge waiver procedures.
This regulation was mandated by the North Carolina State Legislature and is described in The University of North Carolina Policy Manual 1000.1.5[G].