Authority: Vice Provost for Campus Life
History: First Issued: April 24, 2013
Contact Info: Director, Student Housing (919-515-3088); Director, Greek Life (919-513-2910)
This regulation establishes the procedures for the North Carolina State University (NC State) community regarding the reporting, investigation and required emergency notification when a student residing in on-campus housing is determined to be missing. A student shall be deemed missing when he or she is reported absent from the University for more than 24 hours without any known reason.
- IDENTIFYING A CONTACT PERSON
All NC State students residing in on-campus housing (including residence halls, Greek Village and university-owned apartments – E.S. King Village, Western Manor, Wolf Village, Wolf Ridge) must register a contact person to be notified by NC State if NC State determines that the student is missing for more than 24 hours. This contact information will be registered confidentially and will not be disclosed except to authorized University officials and law enforcement personnel in furtherance of a missing person investigation. If a student is under 18 years of age and not an emancipated minor, NC State is required to notify a custodial parent or guardian, in addition to notifying any additional contact person designated by the student.
- PROCEDURE FOR IDENTIFYING A MISSING STUDENT
3.1 Any person who believes that a student who resides in on-campus housing is missing should immediately report this information to University Housing or Greek Life staff, or to University Police at 911 or 919-515-3000. Any missing student report received by University Housing or Greek Life staff will be immediately referred to the University Police. In the event another university officer or employee other than a member of University Housing, Greek Life or University Police receives a report of a missing student, that person shall immediately notify University Police of the report received.
3.2 Upon the report of a possible missing student, the University Police will immediately initiate a missing person investigation in accordance with North Carolina law and University Police General Order 500-13 (Missing Persons). If University Policy determines that a student is missing, University Policy will take the following actions:
3.2.1 University Police will notify the student’s contact person within 24 hours of the determination that the student is missing;
3.2.2 If the student is under 18 years of age and is not an emancipated minor, University Police will notify the student’s custodial parent or guardian and any other designated contact person within 24 hours of the determination that the student is missing;
3.2.3 University Police will inform any other appropriate law enforcement agencies within 24 hours of the determination that the student is missing;
3.2.4 University Police and any other appropriate law enforcement agencies will continue to investigate the missing person report.
3.3 Nothing in this regulation prevents NC State from making notifications earlier than noted above if deemed appropriate under the circumstances. Nothing in this regulation shall restrict NC State from contacting other individuals if deemed necessary to prevent harm to a student or others, necessary to the investigation, or otherwise appropriate under the circumstances.