POL 01.30.03 – Watauga Medal

Authority: Board of Trustees

History: First Issued: January 17, 1975. Last Revised: April 22, 2011.

Related Policies: 
UNC Code: Appendix I, Section IV

Contact Info: Vice Chancellor for University Advancement (919-515-3226)


The Watauga Medal is established to recognize individuals who have rendered significant and distinguished service to North Carolina State University.


2.1 The Watauga Medal will be awarded by action of the University Board of Trustees to persons who have rendered significant and distinguished service and support to North Carolina State University.

2.2 No more than three Watauga Medals may be awarded in any one academic year, though it is not required that an award be made each year.

2.3 Recipients may not be on the payroll of North Carolina State University or of the UNC General Administration for the current fiscal year.

2.4 Current members of the NCSU Board of Trustees and UNC Board of Governors are not eligible.

2.5 Elected state and national officials are not eligible.

2.6 Watauga Medals may be awarded posthumously.

2.7 Nominations may be carried over for two years.  After two years, persons may be re-nominated.


3.1 Significant and distinguished service rendered as an employee of NCSU.  This must denote work performed above and beyond his/her work duties.

3.2 Significant and distinguished service to NCSU rendered from an external position.

3.3 Outstanding financial support of academic programs at NCSU.

3.4 Watauga Medals should not be awarded solely on the basis of financial support.


4.1 The Board of Trustees shall select up to three Watauga Medal recipients annually.  The Board will make its selections from nominations submitted to and recommended by the North Carolina State University Watauga Medal Nomination Committee (the “Committee”).  The Committee will forward its recommendations to the Chancellor for submission to the University Advancement Committee of the Board.  Nominations also may be submitted directly to the University Advancement Committee in care of the Assistant Secretary to the Board.  The Assistant Secretary will coordinate the submission of nominations with the Chancellor and the Vice Chancellor for University Advancement.

4.2 The Committee will consist of:

4.2.1 Five Senators designated by the Chair of the Faculty.*

4.2.2 Five administrators appointed by the Chancellor.*

4.2.3 The following officials shall be appointed as ex officio members of the Committee:

a. Vice Chancellor for University Advancement, who will chair the Committee

b. Associate Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs

c. Associate Vice Chancellor for Development

d. Chair-elect of the Faculty

e. President of the Student Body or designee

f. President of the Alumni Association

*The faculty senators and administrators will be appointed so as to provide one representative from each of the 10 schools.

4.3 Faculty, students, administrators, alumni and the general public will be invited to submit nominations to the Vice Chancellor for University Advancement.

4.4 Presentation of The Watauga Medal(s) will normally be a feature of the annual Founders’ Day ceremonies.